One of the greatest perks of creating maps is getting to know new cities – it’s kinda like having an intimate Lonely Planet guide to the cutest inns, taverns, restaurants and B&B’s in the country. Right now I am working on several maps at once, mentally traveling back and forth across the country, studying the topography of a mountain town or the lakes that break up a metropolis… and then suddenly a project came along that took me to the high seas! I am creating a map for a business located on a Pier in San Francisco, California. This being a great opportunity to style a map as a nautical chart I began Googling for inspiration. I didn’t expect to find the coloring of  the charts to be so intriguing –  aqua, turquoise, violet, rust, coral all came together to describe the topography of the ocean floor, the currents, and tides.

Then, this morning I got an email from Urban Outfitters advertising their “nautical” clothing selection and I realized how prevalent nautical and maritime imagery has become. type in “nautical” on Etsy and you come up with a slew of cards and cardigans and earrings. I have to say, I have always been taken with sailor attire  and  sailing culture in general. Doing a nautical map gives me so many symbols to work with, I can hardly wait to see how it will turn out!

Map Sources:

Map 1

Map 2

Map 3

