Mackinac Island, which is located in Lake Huron,  is beautiful, tiny, and dotted with inns and restaurants – perfect for mapping. Not only does the island have live cams of downtown but there are a million pictures of it floating around which made my research super easy. I even watched Somewhere in Time (filmed on Mackinac Island) for inspiration… and because I hadn’t seen it in years so it was a great excuse.

The soon-to-be’s (who happened to have won this map during my spring special!) wanted some of the charming, old-timey elements of the island highlighted: horse and carriages, bicycling around the island and a lighthouse. They also decided that, since everything is within walking distance, addresses didn’t  necessarily need to be included. Guests would be arriving by ferry however so rather than a floating map of the state they wanted to show the ferry lines from mainland Michigan. This map was a lot of fun for me and of course I now have yet another place I want to visit.

